Review: A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), LP

a girl

Various ‎– A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night
LabelDeath Waltz Recording Company & Mondo
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: UK
Released: 17 Mar 2015
Genre: Stage & Screen
Style: Soundtrack

If you haven’t watched A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night on Netflix yet, stop reading this and go watch it. I’m not sure how much longer it’ll be on there but I highly recommend it. Don’t be like me and wait until the last minute and then freak out because it’s so good and you missed out on the soundtrack…

Allow me to rewind the tape. <<

agirl2

Okay, so when this record came out I ignored it. I’m on the Death Waltz/Mondo mailing list and when I received the notification telling me they were dropping this album, I blew it off. I slept on it! Ugh! Fast forward to months later >> when I actually watched film and then spent the next several days kicking myself for missing out on the killer colored record variants. Variants, which I might add, are fetching a pretty penny these days. D’oh!

And don’t get me wrong – I don’t flip my vinyl. I’m one of these rare and weird breeds that actually listens to it. But I do enjoy going after the rare stuff. Why? It’s fun! Collecting should be fun and you should enjoy your collection, not just stare at it.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this film. I watched it twice. I felt connected to it in a way that I felt connected to Purple Rain…but that’s for a separate review. Immediately after watching it I found myself listening to the soundtrack online, over and over again. The music is as hypnotic as the film itself. I couldn’t get enough of it and broke down and sent away for a copy from lowly Amazon.

agirl3

I was bummed that this double LP set is not 180 gram, heavyweight vinyl. It should be. All vinyl should be these days, considering a ton of it goes through the mail. It’s less inclined to warp. Warps suck, especially if they occur in the mail. I was also disappointed that this record does not come with a digital download. That should be standard by now. Hint, hint record label guys/gals…give us a digital download for the amount of money we slap down on these records!  😀

That said, this album is phenomenal. The packaging is also gorgeous. They did a die-cut jacket with two interchangeable inner sleeves with shots from the film on them and as you pull a sleeve out it makes the letters turn red. Very cool.

But really, what stands out the most about this release the most is the music. It’s amazing. I really dig creative packaging and design when it comes to vinyl and this one hit it out of the park.

And maybe I’m biased on the music because I grew up digging Middle Eastern sounds and instruments like the oud and also stuff like Bally Sagoo and Joseph Tawadros just to name a few, but the music chosen for this film is killer! The tracks by White Lies, Kiosk and Radio Tehran are worth the price of admission alone. I must have listened to Yaro Bia by Kiosk 20 times. In fact, I’m listening to it right now…

agirl4

The music in A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night is a central theme in the movie and featured in many scenes; so much so that I would say that the soundtrack is a character all by itself in the film. Again, if you enjoyed the film at all then you enjoyed the music. Trust me. You might not realize it though until you hear it played back to you at 33 revolutions per minute…in the dark.

Getting this album is a no-brainer for a vinyl/horror enthusiast. When I initially heard the soundtrack in its entirety I said that it was a contender for soundtrack of the year and I still feel that way.

You can learn more about the film here and the listen to the soundtrack here. Let me know what you thought of the film and the soundtrack.

My rating: 5 stars

Leave a Reply

